FIRST ONE @ ONE FIRST

There Will Be Blood

Posted in Case Reports by Mike Sacks on March 2, 2010

My write-up of this morning’s oral argument in McDonald v. City of Chicago is now live at ABA Journal:

In McDonald v. City of Chicago, the Supreme Court made clear that the penalty for constitutional grave-digging is death by firing squad. [...]

The big question going into today’s argument was not whether the justices would incorporate the Second Amendment—the Heller Five were guaranteed to do so—but rather how they would incorporate.

This is where it got bloody for Alan Gura, petitioners’ lead counsel and Heller’s victorious advocate.

Read the rest here.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Zach said, on March 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Mike,

    I met you last week when I, along with some of my friends, were waiting in line before arguments in Humanitarian Law Project. Our professor from Pitt was co-counsel. I almost lost it when I saw you in the Times yesterday. I just wanted to say congratulations for all the great press! You certainly deserve it with all the time you’ve devoted to this enterprise. I was sorry to hear you were beaten by the Californian couple, but 5:30 AM? That’s a little ridiculous. Anyways, keep up the good work. I love the blog, and now I look forward to your piece in Above the Law.

    -Zach Mueller

  2. Larken said, on March 3, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    As being one of the people that came out at 5:30 am, it wasn’t ridiculous. What an inexpensive price to pay to meet people that have such a passion in not only the Supreme Court, but the United States. I did not show up that early to be first or because I was a huge proponent of guns rights. I showed up to experience the Monday line, and the surroundings of our great nation’s capital. Could I have done it at 8 am? Sure, but if I didn’t show up that early I wouldn’t have seen such a beautiful sunrise over the capital (because Tuesday’s sunrise wasnt that great!) and I will never have that opportunity again.

    I always thought an indivdual can change this country. But this experience proved to me someone actually can. I used to think it was people like McDonald, Heller or Oliver Brown, but in actuality its people like Mike who truly can change the course of history and educate all people, not just Law types.

    Since I have been following Mike for months now, I am his biggest fan, I was so excited to finally “live” his blog! Mike is a true gem and would should all strive to harness his vigor.

    We would have gladly walked away and given Mike his first place…Mike you are truly my hero and always number one in my book!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

