FIRST ONE @ ONE FIRST

F1@1F’s Farewell

Posted in F1@1F Friends by Mike Sacks on April 3, 2011

Friends–

On Friday I posted my part in an April Fool’s joke.  But this post, sadly, is no joke.

When F1@1F turned one year old at the end of this past December, I posted a short thank-you for your making F1@1F a deeply satisfying project.  At the time, I hadn’t realized that just a few months later, I’d have to re-extend those sentiments upon the closing of this site.

Tomorrow, I will be starting as a first-year associate at a law firm here in DC.  When I leave for work in the morning, I will be taking F1@1F off the air.  Accordingly, by the time many of you read this post in your morning email check or RSS sweep, the blog will be a memory.  Of course, due to my last batch of law school finals, intensive bar studies, getting a job offer, proposing to the First Lady of F1@1F, and preparing for the new gig, F1@1F has already been de facto wound-down.

Closing F1@1F will be bittersweet: while I’m incredibly proud of F1@1F and will miss having my own corner among Court watchers to contribute my commentary, I also feel very lucky to have a job in DC and a steady paycheck in a recovering-but-still-slow legal market.

Luckier still, my firm has assured me that it maintains a liberal publication policy.  So while this personal blog may disappear, I hope to return in due time as an active analyst in my firm’s own outlets or in op/ed pages across the country.

So I said it in December and I’ll say it again now: thank you all.  You have made this little project of mine into something far bigger than I had ever imagined.

-Mike

Tagged with:
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

